Widelux FVI!

So I think I mentioned I was hooked on the enigma that is the widelux series.  If that company were still in business they would really need to write a check to Jeff bridges.

It’s really what made me start thinking about film photography.  Swing lens cameras are utterly unique. As in – there is not a signal digital camera which shoots a picture like this- panoramics are either just a reaaaaally wide angle lense or you stringing together a long shot or series of shots.  The swing lens shoots one long exposure across a long stretch of film. And the pics are amazing.

So I got my widelux inthe mail. And -I ruined a roll of film figuring out how to load it.  I think I mentioned – I ruin a roll of film with every camera I acquire and learn how to load.  See- the widelux you have to thread the film under both rollers around the exposure box- then onto the take up spool.  I missed that second roller initially.

So I load the second roll and start shooting.  The first roll I put through a lot of cameras I acquire is just in my backyard.  Chickens.  The garden. The dogs.  My infant son. Etc.  the widelux is heavy. Like I could knock out an assailant wth a glancing blow.  I knew from reading manuals that it has some quirks. It’s one of the cameras you wind before you change the shutter speed.  See- it’s all mechanically driven- gears and springs.  Not electric at all.  The knobs are big. You have to give them a hefty twist.  It suits my large hands well.

Shooting is a hoot! You don’t really have to use the view finder.  I mean. You can- but it doesn’t really show you everything you’re going to capture.  On top there’s a bubble level on the top- and you figure out quick that with a swing lense if the camera isn’t level you get this- kind of a fish eye effect but only in a consistent arc and not the bubble all around look. That can be a neat effect of you try to make it work that way but- i noticed I ended up shooting while looking down and using the bubble level most the time.   I’d read in Jeff Bridges site that -before you load film to “exercise the lens”- with your finger You gently roll the lenses back.  They say this helps exercise the gearing and springs.  After a roll or two I do think this helped. The lowest shutter speed was sticking when I first got the camera- but after two rolls it worked fine.  I got in the ha it of exercising the lenses regularly.

So I cranked through a roll and – I hadn’t quite figured out the unwind mechanics. Aka the Pressing on the bottom button while you crank the big rewind knob.  I flashed a couple shots.  So I kind of figured I botched that roll- and I was just shooting around the downtown of the small town I live in- so I took it to wal greens. I figured the odds of them processing the long negatives correctly were slim and none- and I was right. I got the film back and they botched it.  Bad.  Like – I couldn’t even piece together the long frames – it looked like they just cut out the extra exposure and threw it away all together. 10$ for 12 half exposures basically.

But- the camera worked!  Clear, clean shots.  Well what was left of them.

So I turn out another roll and googled for a lab.  “The Dark Room” was pretty much the first on the lost.  And at 20$ a roll for pano shots (and or half frame shots) that’s when I realized- I’m going to need to learn how to develop and scan my own. That’s another entry- and saves you a buuuunch of money after some trial and error.

And a half dozen rolls into the romance I can tell you- the Widelux is every ounce of the beauty I thought it would be.  You’ll never see photos like what the widelux can make-film or digital.

Leave a comment